Cuno Foundation Announces Grants and New Officers



FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE--Meriden, CT, January 30, 2017  —  Molly Savard was elected Chairman of the Distribution Committee of The Cuno Foundation at the Annual Meeting held on January 17.  Savard  replaces outgoing Chairman, Ken Mango.  Chris Beale was elected Vice-Chairman for the 2017 year.    Other members include Natalie Cheerman, Kevin Curry, John Stanton and Eliot White.   Members are appointed for a seven year term.  Trudy Cotton serves as Secretary of the Cuno Foundation.

            Over $40,000 was awarded with the largest grant of $7,000 going to the YMCA on behalf of Meriden Youth Theatre.  Literacy Volunteers and Arc of Meriden-Wallingford each received $5,000.  Other recipients included AAUW, Project Graduation, Relay for Life, Birthright of Greater Meriden and Saint Joseph School.

            The Distribution Committee also announced approximately $50,000 in scholarships to high school seniors planning to further their education will be awarded in May 2017.  Applications were sent to Meriden and Wallingford high schools where students can pick up an application in the Guidance Department.   The deadline date for accepting applications is March 3, 2017.          

            The Cuno Foundation is again accepting grant applications for public, charitable or educational purposes.  Grants are usually made for specific, tangible items or capital expense requests that directly benefit the recipient.  The Cuno Foundation does not grant funds for salaries.  Applications are reviewed three times a year.  The next deadline date to submit an application is April 15, 2017.  Awards will be announced in May.   Preference is given to proposals submitted by tax-exempt, not for profit organizations located in the Meriden area.  

           Non-profit organizations seeking to submit a grant for consideration should visit where they can create an account and submit their grant application via the website.  An agency can also create an account for the online grants system at any time outside of the application cycle.  Paper grant applications will no longer be accepted.

          Questions regarding the application process can be directed to Trudy Cotton at 203-443-5594 or by email to